a long way from home
<< - >>
It happened tonight. During an innocent conversation with my mom about a flower that bloomed today.

It hit me. Electric. I felt something I haven't felt in years, and I have to admit, it had me taken aback. It was like a flashback to another world; one that I haven't been living in for a long time.

There is so much beauty in this world. But so many of us are walking through life under a veil of clouds, the overcast rarely letting up so we can take a moment to bask in the sunshine. And god, has it been so long since I've felt the sunshine touch my soul.

A flower. A simple seed that has burst into life, radiating it's beauty that came from within. I can't believe I let the part of me go that remembered just how fucking insanely incredible it is that I get to live in a world where something so simple, yet so beautiful and intricate and diverse, exists. I feel so full and so elated that I have tears in my eyes. It has been so many years since I have been thankful to be alive. And I'm determined not to let this precious feeling go.

I'm making a promise to the world to love harder, to respect myself and the life around me, and to spread my sunshine and beauty in any way that I can.

I know there is darkness. But let there be light.

... 2019-02-06 @ 9:32 p.m.